The Best of Both Worlds


WorkingFromHome

Working from home is great.  I’m not going to sit here and tell you that I did not like working from home the past few months.  However, I am going to sit here and tell you that going to the office sometimes is also great.

The thing about working from home, for me, at least, is that I tend to not get up from my computer at all.  There really isn’t a reason to go to another room.  I can sit here all day and everything I need is right at my finger tips….. Ok, maybe I go to the kitchen to grab a bite to eat but then it’s right back to sit in front of my computer.  I started to feel as if I didn’t even need to get dressed.  There were days when I just worked in my Pjs all day — Yeah I know for some of you this may be something you wish you could have — I remember I couldn’t wait to have that.

When working from home, networking becomes even more important.  “out of site out of mind.”  Because most of the time people do not see you, you may not get the “good” assignments –you know the ones that will get you promoted or in front of the people who will be making the promotion and raise decisions.  You must become more conscious about networking and developing those connections.

A few months ago I decided that I needed to rework my schedule.  I needed to feel like I was part of the team and I needed to be seen.

So now I have the best of both worlds.  I get to work from home when I need to work from home.  I get to enjoy the quiet when I need to get more work out and I get to go to the office when I feel like I need to socialize or when I have a meeting for which I need to be there in person.

I go to the office most of days of the week and when I’m there I make sure I take the time to pop my head in the offices of my other team members and at times even am able to join them for lunch or an after work something…. more often than not a drink or two.

The other reason I like to go to the office is that it gives me another excuse to buy clothes 🙂

XoXo

Ana

Any Thoughts?

