The Common Cold and Natural Remedies


images

I thought the cartoon above was funny.  Thank you Cartoonstock.com.  It’s true that medical science cannot cure a common cold.  Actually, nothing really can cure it.  The most you can do is alleviate the symptoms but you have to let a cold run its course.  Which is what I’m doing right now.

A cold is a viral information where the mucous membrane of the nose and throat become inflamed.  It typically causes a runny nose, sneezing, sore throat and other familiar symptoms.

Friday afternoon I started feeling as if my throat was “dusty.” During my presentation I kept feeling as if I had to clear my throat often which became a bit annoying.  By the time the presentation was over I was feeling totally drained.  The temperature outside was a warm 60 degrees but I felt really cold…. Ohhh no… here we go, third cold this year.  I began to try to convince myself that it was allergies.  After all, they are saying the allergy season this year is going to bad.  I never used get colds.  Seriously, very rarely …. Now, since I’ve been taking the subway system in New York City I’m sick every couple of months.  That questions prompted me to go to Google.  What causes these colds?

  • Human parainfluenza virus
  • Metapneumovirus
  • Maronaviruses adenavirus
  • Human Respiratory Syncytial Virus
  • Eneroviruses

So now that I know what the causes are I need to figure out how to avoid getting sick.  A quick internet search revealed the following list.

  • Avoid contact with someone who has a cold – Well, this may be a bit difficult.  I work in New York City and take public transportation.  I’m sure that on any given day I’m in close proximity of someone who has a cold; T
  • Eat lots of vitamin-rick fruits and vegetables – This one I have control over.  I already eat plenty of fruits and vegetables but I may need to up my intake of vitamin C rich fruits.  We will try that.
  • Make sure you wash your hands with soap and water often – Well, I wash my hands after going to the bathroom but I don’t walk around with a sink and soap and for what I’ve heard those antibacterial lotions are full of chemicals I don’t want to be spreading all over my body.  I will figure out how to make my own and will report back.
  • Get plenty of rest – Sleep, it would be really nice to get as much sleep as I want but that doesn’t always work out.  I try to get at least 8 hours every night and most of the time I am able to.

If you ask me, it seems like my issue is really being around a lot of people and maybe not having enough vitamin C in my body.

So, All the above would be great if I didn’t have this darn cold already.  What should I do now to get rid of this cold?

  • Apple Cider Vinegar A non-invasive chiropractic adjustment puts the neck and back into proper alignment, alleviating pressure on the congested lymph ducts and allowing them to flow more freely to protect you against colds, flu and other illnesses. – Make an ACV tea to sip and/or gargle. Use 2 tablespoons ACV, 1-2 tablespoons honey (to taste), lemon juice (again, to taste) and a little hot water to dilute. It’s potent but the stronger it is, the faster it will work (of course you can change the amounts of everything to your liking). Use it 3-4 times a day (less is ok too but the more you do it, the better the results).
  • Increase Vitamin D and C – Vitamin C has long been known to support the immune system and fight off colds. As with any supplement, check with your doctor first but about 500-2000 milligrams every 2 hours is recommended. Fruits and veggies high in Vitamin C are oranges, kiwis, bell peppers, guavas, strawberries, dark leafy greens, papaya, broccoli and Brussels sprouts. Additionally, having enough Vitamin D reduces your risk of catching a cold in the first place. Sunlight and fish are great sources of D.
  • Eucalyptus – This can be done as a quick steam in the shower (just shake a few drops at either end of the tub/stall) or if you have more time, a more intense steam treatment. Put 4-5 drops of eucalyptus oil in a glass bowl.  Add boiling water and lean over the bowl. Cover your head with a towel to trap the steam in and inhale deeply for 5-10 minutes. Repeat twice a day (those with liver disease/problems should not use eucalyptus oil). The steam will open up your nasal passages so you can breathe better. Your stuffy nose with be a thing of history!
  • Honey (Not for infants under 1 year old.) Make sure it’s local and raw. Honey has antioxidants, antiviral and antibacterial properties, boosts the immune system and soothes sore throats and coughs. Add 1-2 tablespoons to your ACV tea, ginger tea or just a cup of warm boiled water. Add some lemon for the added benefit of Vitamin C.
  • Regular Chiropractic Adjustments – A non-invasive chiropractic adjustment puts the neck and back into proper alignment, alleviating pressure on the congested lymph ducts and allowing them to flow more freely to protect you against colds, flu and other illnesses.

According to medical journals a cold can last up to 10 days with some symptoms lingering longer.  I will keep my fingers crossed that it won’t take me that long…. We have lots planned in Camelot.

XoXo

Ana

Any Thoughts?

